Health Services & Economics

"Reducing the growth in health care spending requires improving the quality and timeliness of care and decreasing low-value care, which doesn’t improve health and may actually be harmful.”

Robert Penfold, PhD
Kaiser Permanente Washington Health Research Institute Senior Investigator

Research overview

Kaiser Permanente Washington Health Research Institute (KPWHRI) covers many fields, but much of what we do is health services research. That means we’re studying what really works — and what doesn't — in health care, with a focus on achieving aims including better population health, improved patient experience, and lower health care costs.

It all starts with Kaiser Permanente Washington’s learning health system, where research and practice work side by side to inform and improve each other. Researchers benefit from Kaiser Permanente Washington’s comprehensive capture of rich information about patients’ health, use of health care, and costs. Clinical leaders benefit from rigorous evaluations of novel innovations in care delivery and provider reimbursement.

“Together, we are learning what it takes to quickly translate what works into our health system — and track the long-term effects on outcomes that matter to patients, clinicians, and policymakers,” said David Arterburn, MD, MPH, a senior investigator. Here are just a few examples:

The impact of our health services research is extensive. Being part of the Kaiser Permanente system, along with our membership in the Health Care Systems Research Network, the Breast Cancer Surveillance Consortium, and other national and international collaborations increases the size and diversity of our study populations. These connections also help KPWHRI shape care and policy beyond the Kaiser Permanente Washington system.

Recent publications on Health Services & Economics

Chen Y, Ji X, Xiao H, Unger JM, Cai Y, Mao Z, Yeung K. Impact of the pilot volume-based drug purchasing policy in China: interrupted time-series analysis with controls. Front Pharmacol. 2021 Dec 22;12:804237. doi: 10.3389/fphar.2021.804237. eCollection 2021. PubMed

Yeung K, Bloudek L, Ding Y, Sullivan SD. Value-based pricing of US prescription drugs: Estimated savings using reports from the Institute for Clinical and Economic Review. JAMA Health Forum. 2022 Dec 2;3(12):e224631. doi: 10.1001/jamahealthforum.2022.4631. PubMed

Finnes HD, Child B, DeFrates S, Kinsman K, Thorne A, Lentz S, Lockhorst R, Murphy J, Urmanski A, Amin S, Barr H, Baviskar S, Beckman C, Chow N, Derba M, Erickson M, Hennes E, Heisey H, Lau R, Limvorasak S, Luckritz T, Mays T, Nzelibe CN, Romanowski T, Smith C, Tesoro D, Toeniskoetter K, Voytilla K. Adapting investigational drug services during a pandemic: Recommendations for future preparedness from the Hematology/Oncology Pharmacy Association Investigational Drug Sservices Special Iinterest Group. Am J Health Syst Pharm. 2022 Oct 6;zxac267. doi: 10.1093/ajhp/zxac267. Online ahead of print. PubMed

Henderson JT, Martin A, Patnode CD, Henrikson NB. A synthesis of qualitative studies on patient and caregiver experiences with cognitive impairment screening and diagnosis. Aging Ment Health. 2022 Oct 3:1-12. doi: 10.1080/13607863.2022.2126431. [Epub ahead of print]. PubMed

Lozano PM, Lane-Fall M, Franklin PD, Rothman RL, Gonzales R, Ong MK, Gould MK, Beebe TJ, Roumie CL, Guise JM, Enders FT, Forrest CB, Mendonca EA, Starrels JL, Sarkar U, Savitz LA, Moon J, Linzer M, Ralston JD, Chesley FD Jr. Training the next generation of learning health system scientists. Learn Health Syst. 2022 Sep 10;6(4):e10342. doi: 10.1002/lrh2.10342. eCollection 2022 Oct. PubMed

Researchers in Health Services & Economics

Michael L. Parchman, MD, MPH

Senior Investigator, ACT Center
206-287-2704
Michael.X.Parchman@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

David E. Arterburn, MD, MPH

Senior Investigator
206-287-4610
David.E.Arterburn@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Rita Mangione-Smith, MD, MPH

Executive Director and Senior Investigator, KPWHRI; Vice President for Research and Health Care Innovation, Kaiser Permanente Washington
206-287-2988
Rita.M.Mangione-Smith@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Robert Penfold, PhD

Senior Investigator
206-287-2232
Robert.B.Penfold@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

James D. Ralston, MD, MPH

Senior Investigator
206-287-2076
James.D.Ralston@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Katie Coleman, MSPH

Director, Collaborative Science; Director, ACT Center
206-287-2872
Katie.F.Coleman@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Katharine A. Bradley, MD, MPH

Senior Investigator
206-287-2151
Katharine.A.Bradley@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Paula Lozano, MD, MPH

Senior Investigator
206-287-2113
Paula.Lozano@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Jessica Chubak, PhD

Senior Investigator
206-287-2556
Jessica.Chubak@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Karen Wernli, PhD

Senior Scientific Investigator
206-287-2934
Karen.J.Wernli@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Erin J. Bowles, MPH

Manager, Collaborative Science
206-287-2708
Erin.A.Bowles@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Nora Henrikson, PhD, MPH

Associate Investigator
206-287-4675
Nora.B.Henrikson@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Aruna Kamineni, PhD, MPH

Assistant Investigator
206-287-2922
Aruna.S.Kamineni@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Gwen Lapham, PhD, MPH, MSW

Assistant Investigator
206-287-2021
Gwen.T.Lapham@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Melissa L. Anderson, MS

Principal Collaborative Biostatistician
206-287-2647
Melissa.L.Anderson@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Eric Johnson, MS

Senior Collaborative Biostatistician
206-287-2105
Eric.Johnson@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Lorella Palazzo, PhD

Collaborative Scientist
206-287-2173
Lorella.G.Palazzo@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Paula R. Blasi, MPH

Collaborative Scientist
206-287-2094
Paula.R.Blasi@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Cara C. Lewis, PhD

Senior Investigator
206-442-4076
Cara.C.Lewis@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Yates Coley, PhD

Associate Biostatistics Investigator
206-287-2071
Rebecca.Y.Coley@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Joseph E. Glass, PhD, MSW

Associate Investigator
206-287-4266
Joseph.E.Glass@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Lynn DeBar, PhD

Senior Investigator
(206) 287-2942
Lynn.Debar@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Paige D. Wartko, PhD, MPH

Collaborative Scientist
206-442-5230
Paige.D.Wartko@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Leah K. Hamilton, PhD

Senior Collaborative Scientist
206-287-2515
Leah.K.Hamilton@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Chloe Krakauer, PhD

Collaborative Biostatistician II
chloe.a.krakauer@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Ruben Martinez, PhD

Collaborative Scientist
Ruben.G.Martinez@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Claire Allen, MPH

Manager, Collaborative Science
Claire.L.Allen@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Theresa E. Matson, PhD, MPH

Collaborative Scientist
Tessa.E.Matson@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

 

Affiliate researchers

Douglas A. Conrad, PhD, MBA, MHA
Health Services and Dental Public Health Sciences
Center for Health Management Research
Finance and Business Economics
University of Washington (UW)

David Grembowski, PhD
Health Services and Dental Public Health Sciences
Adjunct Professor, Sociology, UW

Larry Kessler, ScD
UW Department of Health Services

Emily Williams, PhD, MPH
UW Department of Health Services; VA Health Services Research & Development Center of Excellence